HSPA Conference Scholarships


The HSPA Foundation provided 11 scholarships for the 2023 Annual Conference and Expo at the Gaylord Opryland Resort in Nashville, Tenn. (May 6–10, 2023). The Foundation funded 10 scholarships, and an additional scholarship was provided by Healthmark Industries in memory of Anne Cofiell. Cofiell was a loyal supporter of the SP profession and tireless advocate for the critical importance of safe, high-quality medical device processing — beginning with effective, thorough and consistent cleaning. She was an active member of HSPA and served on many AAMI working groups throughout her decades-long career.

2024 Scholarship Applications will open this fall. Check back soon for more information.


2023 Recipients

  • Christina Bailey, CRCST, Sterile Processing Technician – HSHS St. John’s Hospital, Springfield, IL
  • Virginia Cooke, CRCST, CHL, SPD Supervisor – MUSC Health University Medical Center, Florence, SC
  • Carla Cuer, CRCST, CIS, Lead SPD Tech – United Memorial Medical Center, Batavia, NY
  • Javier Deras, CRCST, CER, CIS, CHL, Sterile Processing Supervisor – Mammoth Hospital, Mammoth Lakes, CA
  • Noelani Grandona, CRCST, Sterile Processing Technician – SCL Health St. Mary’s Medical Center, Dunedin, New Zealand
  • Stephanie Jurado, CRCST, CER, Manager of Sterile Processing – Los Alamos Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • Stacey Marshall, Medical Device Reprocessing Technician – Bluewater Health, Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
  • Taylor Space, CRCST, CER, CHL, CIS, Lead Central Sterile Technician II – St. Luke’s Cornwall Hospital, Newburgh, NY
  • Dawn Tarrant, CRCST, CHL, CIS, Instrument Technician III – Mercy Hospital Oklahoma City, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Celsea Vaqfipour, CRCST, CIS, CER, CHL, Sterile Processing Technician – San Juan Regional Medical Center, Farmington, NM
  • Marti Wright, CRCST, Sterile Processing Technician – Prescott Valley Outpatient Surgery Center, Prescott, AZ

2022 Recipients

  • Whitney Adams, CRCST, Sterilization Lead – MercyHealth Hospital and Medical Center, Devavan, WI
  • Jesselee Alburo, CRCST, Technician/Perioperative Aid – Interior Health Authority, Kelowna, British Columbia
  • Maria Banuelos, CRCST, CS Tech – Christus Spohn Health System, Banquete, TX
  • William Frey, CRCST, CER, CIS, CHL, Supervisor – VAMC, Martinsburg, WV
  • Elaine Higginson, CRCST, CER, Manager – Lost Rivers Medical Center, Arco, ID
  • Garrett Hollembeak, CRCST, CIS, CHL, Intrument Specialist – Cincinnati Childlren’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH
  • Melissa Loper, CRCST, CIS, CHL, Supervisor – Allegheny Valley Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Janene McGlynn, CRCST, CER, CIS, CHL, Technician – The Medical Center of Aurora, Aurora, CO
  • Taylor Petet, CRCST, CER, Manager – Lost Rivers Medical Center, Arco, ID
  • Debra Zador, CRCST, Coordinator/Supervisor – University of Maryland Shore Regional Health, Easton, MD

2020 Recipients

  • Gary Bache, CRCST, CIS, CHL, Supervisor – Memorial Hermann Southeast Hospital, Houston, TX
  • Alicia Ballinger, CRCST, CIS, Lead Instrument Tech – Blessing Hospital, Quincy, IL
  • Florence Lynne Galusha, CRCST, CSP Educator – PeaceHealth Southwest Medical Center, Vancouver, WA
  • Julie Hook, CRCST, Technician – Johnson County Memorial Hospital, Buffalo, WY
  • Hafiz Abdul Mannan, CRCST, Manager – Hameed Latif Hospital, Lahore, Pakistan