HSPA Announces 2022 Award Recipients

March 14, 2022

The Healthcare Sterile Processing Association’s (HSPA’s) annual awards program honors Sterile Processing (SP) professionals who demonstrate exceptional leadership, dedication and service in the SP discipline. Numerous qualified candidates submitted nominations for the 2022 HSPA Awards. The HSPA Board of Directors carefully reviewed each submission and selected the following as this year’s award recipients:

Confidence Builder Award
Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital
Sterile Processing Department
New Brunswick, N.J.

CS Leadership Award
Bernard Gilbert, BS, AS, CSPDT, CSPDS, CSPM, CER
Director, Central Sterile
Stony Brook Medicine
Stony Brook, N.Y.

Technician Achievement Award
Katherine A. Hije, CRCST
CSSD Technician
Al Safwa Hospital by Majesty
Riyadh, Saudia Arabia

Chapters of the Year
Large Chapter: Florida Intercoastal Reprocessing Educators
Medium Chapter: Connecticut Sterile Processing Association
Small Chapter: Kansas Society for Healthcare Central Service Professionals

“Sterile Processing professionals play a critical role in the delivery of quality service to healthcare customers and patients, and we are pleased to honor this year’s award recipients whose submissions underscored their commitment to doing what’s right in the name of quality and safety,” said HSPA’s Executive Director, Susan Adams, BA, CAE.

This commitment to advancing Sterile Processing (SP) knowledge, skill sets and professionalism is why over 40,000 members and certification holders rely on HSPA to keep them sharp, focused and abreast of the very latest standards, best practices and technological advancements impacting the SP profession.