Pacific West Sterile Processing Association

About Us

We are a professional Association of those active and associated with Central Service/Sterile Processing and Distribution Personnel.

PWSPA (formerly CCSA) is governed by President, Past President, President-Elect, Regional Directors and Member-at-Large. The Regional Directors represent counties in a geographical area. Regional Directors are elected for a Two year term.


The mission of PWSPA is to promote patient safety by raising the level of expertise and recognition for those in the Central Service profession. PWSPA accomplishes this by working in conjunction with HSPA.

PWSPA accomplishes this:

  • By providing education, professional development, certification through HSPA, communication and representation opportunities for Central Service;
  • Through collaboration efforts with allied partners, members and associates; and
  • Through advocacy initiatives for public policy changes.



Nicole Romero, CRCST, CIS
Kaiser Permanente San Diego Mission Road
San Diego, California



Tony Alvino
Executive Director
2260 Alcosta Blvd. #C25A
San Ramon, California 94583

Board of Directors

President Nicole Romero Kaiser Permanente
President-Elect Cheron Rojo Healthmark Industries
Past-President Kenneth (Ken) Hare UCSF Health
Secretary-Treasurer Lisa Everett UCSF Health
Education Coordinator Open
Infection Prevention Advisor Rebecca Taylor Alvino UCSF Health
Member-at-Large/Senior Advisor Gene Ricupito UCSF Health
Executive Director Tony Alvino PWSPA
Director Region 1 Racheline Ayun John Muir Health
Director Region 1 Damon Miles Lucille Packard Children Hospital
Member-at-Large/Senior Advisor Region 1 Tim Parsons UCSF Health
Director Region 2 Perthina Mathews Kaiser Permanente
Director Region 2 Brandy Lyons Kaiser Permanente
Director Region 2 Open
Director Region 3 Monica Sanchez, Kaier Permanente
Director Region 3 Open
Member-at-Large Region 3 Open
Director Region 4 Jonathan Gutierrez Sharp Memorial Hospital
Director Region 4 Open
Member-at-Large Region 4 Open
Director Region 5 Sabriana Ford Saint Rose Dominican Siena
Director Region 5 Open
Member-at-Large Region 5 Christopher (Chris) Everhart Southwest Surgery Center
Director Region 6 Open
Member-at-Large Region 6 Open
Director Region 7 Ja-Ann Novan Hawai'i Pacific Health - Pali Momi Medical
Member-at-Large Region 6 Open