HSPA Announces 2023 Award Recipients

HSPA Announces 2023 Award Recipients
06 May 2023

HSPA Announces 2023 Award Recipients

The Healthcare Sterile Processing Association’s (HSPA’s) annual awards program honors Sterile Processing (SP) professionals who demonstrate exceptional leadership, dedication and service in the SP discipline.

Numerous qualified candidates submitted nominations for the 2023 HSPA Awards. The HSPA Board of Directors carefully reviewed each submission and selected the following as this year’s award recipients:


SP Quality Award

Parkwest Medical Center

Knoxville, Tenn.


SP Leadership Award

Glenna Osborn, CRCST, CIS, CHL, CER

Manager of Sterile Processing

King’s Daughters Medical Center

Ashland, Ky.


Technician Achievement Award

Osama Alsadawi, BS, CRCST, CIS, CHL, CER

Medical Supply Technician (Advanced)

VA Connecticut Healthcare System

West Haven, Conn.


Golden Slipper Award

Lauren Caskey, CRCST, CIS, CHL

CS Technician

King’s Daughters Medical Center

Ashland, Ky.


Chapters of the Year

Small Chapter: Minnesota Sterile Processing Association

Medium Chapter: Mid-Atlantic Central Service Association

Large Chapter: Pacific West Sterile Processing Association


“Sterile Processing professionals’ many roles and responsibilities are essential to patient safety and positive outcomes, and this year’s award recipients underscored their commitment to professional excellence,” said HSPA’s Executive Director, Susan Adams, BA, CAE. “On behalf of all of us at HSPA, I would like to congratulate this year’s award recipients for a job well done.